24/7 ONLINE LIBRARY

READING SUGGESTIONS

 

Here are several websites that can help you find that next great book.

Public Library of Anniston-Calhoun County, Alabama

Readalikes: The Anniston Library website offers an extensive list of readalikes, to help readers find new authors who write like their favorite authors.

Amazon and Barnes & Noble

These two comprehensive online bookstores are great resources for discovering new releases and finding professional and customer reviews.

New York Times

The Times’ online Books section features the Sunday Book Review, access to 50,000 reviews dating back to 1981 and a dropdown list of past articles on featured authors. The Review includes the influential Times’ best seller lists and wide-ranging reviews, often written by well-known authors, on the landmark books of our time.

 

IndieBound

IndieBound is a great shortcut to current titles. Independent bookstores list their best sellers and recommended books, promote each other and offer brief reviews. The site includes adult and children’s poetry, fiction and nonfiction.

Library Thing

Library Thing bills itself as “a community of 1,000,000 book lovers.” This Web 2.0 site has been called “a sort of Facebook for people who like books.” It permits readers to share their personal libraries and meet people with similar reading tastes.

 

Modern Library 100 Best Novels

Wikipedia offers an easy way to access this list created by the editorial board of the Modern Library. The same Wikipedia article features Modern Library’s “Readers List of 100 Best Novels”, which was selected by reader votes. Both lists feature English-language books from the 20th century, from a largely American point of view.

Morton Grove Public Library, Illinois

Morton Grove Public Library Reader’s Corner includes e-mail newsletters, Reader’s Match, Nancy Pearl reviews and many other resources for book lovers.

National Public Radio

Choose the link for Books in the Arts & Life section to see what National Public Radio is reviewing and recommending.

Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, North Carolina

This site includes librarians’ reviews, reading lists, and links for book groups and book lovers.

ONLINE RESOURCES FOR BOOK GROUPS

LitClub

LitClub, part of the LitLovers website, has terrific book club ideas — reading guides, reviews, discussion questions, recipes, etc.

Reading Group Guides.com

This site includes great tips on how to start and run a book group, as well as an extensive list of reading group guides.

Book Publisher’s Websites

It’s often useful to visit publishers’ websites for detailed information on specific authors and books.